

## **QUEENSLAND LAW SOCIETY COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2015**

A key objective of the Women Lawyer's Association of Queensland is to support the progression of women in the legal profession. WLAQ encourages those women who seek to make a difference and acknowledges their efforts.

WLAQ would like to recognise the following women who have nominated for a position on the Queensland Law Society (QLS) Council:

Deborah Awyzio | President Christine Smyth | Deputy-President Kara Cook | Vice-President Louise Cox | Vice-President

(in alphabetical order)

Louise Cox | Ordinary member of Council
Julie Harrington | Ordinary member of Council
Jennifer Hetherington | Ordinary member of Council
Chloe Kopilovic | Ordinary member of Council
Glenys Owen | Ordinary member of Council
Elizabeth Shearer | Ordinary member of Council
Christine Smyth | Ordinary member of Council
Kara Thomson | Ordinary member of Council

President, Amelia Trotman commented that "it takes commitment and drive to nominate for a position on a committee. All practitioners who have nominated should be recognised for their efforts and I am pleased that there are such a high number of female nominees for this year's QLS Council Election. In keeping with past practices, on behalf of the WLAQ Management Committee, I wish all nominees the best and look forward to continuing the relationship between WLAQ and QLS over the next year".

Further information about the nominees can be found on the QLS website.

Voting closes 4.00pm on Tuesday 20 October 2015.

15 October 2015

For further information, please contact admin@wlaq.com.au.